UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Buddhist stupas of Swayambhu and Boudhanath

Nepal has a wealth of cultural treasures, the most important of which, the Kathmandu Valley and Lumbini, are UNESCO world heritage sites.

Patan – Durbar Square Pre-2015 Earthquake

The list of protected areas is divided into two categories, cultural and natural, with a separate mention for properties submitted on the Tentative List for future acceptance.The Great Earthquake of April 25, 2015 destroyed many of these unique sites to piles of rubble; they are currently being studied for possible reconstruction or repair.


Boudhanath Temple
Boudhanath in Kathmandu
  • Kathmandu Valley
    • Durbar Squares of Hanuman Dhoka (Kathmandu)
    • Patan
    • Bhaktapur
    • Buddhist stupas of Swayambhu and Boudhanath
    • Hindu temples of Pashupati and Changu Narayan
  • Lumbini, the Birthplace of the Lord Buddha
Bhaktapur, Nepal


Chitwan National Park
  • Chitwan National Park
  • Sagarmatha National Park

Properties Submitted on the Tentative List

Temple Door Lintel
Vajrayogini Temple Door Lintel – Photo: Cordula Sturm Dahal
  • Early medieval architectural complex of Panauti (1996)
  • Tilaurakot, the archaeological remains of ancient Shakya Kingdom (1996)
  • Cave architecture of Muktinath Valley of Mustang (1996)
  • The medieval palace complex of Gorkha (1996)
  • Ramagrama, the relic stupa of Lord Buddha (1996)
  • Khokana, the vernacular village and its mustard-oil seed industrial heritage (1996)
  • Medieval Earthen Walled City of Lo Manthang (2008)
  • Vajrayogini and early settlement of Sankhu (2008)
  • Medieval Settlement of Kirtipur (2008)
  • Rishikesh Complex of Ruru Kshetra (2008)
  • Nuwakot Palace Complex (2008)
  • Ram Janaki Temple (2008)
  • The Medieval Town of Tansen (2008)
  • Sinja Valley (2008)
  • Bharti Temple Complex of Dailekh (2008)